Speakers & Presentations

Opening Keynote: Dr. Tristan Denley

TristanDenley

Dr. Tristan Denley is the Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Chief Information Academic Officer of the University System of Georgia. Previously, he served as Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at the Tennessee Board of Regents. Dr. Denley earned his PhD in Mathematics from Trinity College Cambridge, and has held positions in Sweden, Canada, and the University of Mississippi. At Ole Miss he served as Chair of Mathematics and Senior Fellow of the Residential College program. More recently, he was Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs at Austin Peay State University (APSU).

At APSU, Dr. Denley was instrumental in the creation of Degree Compass, a course recommendation system. By analyzing the historical grades and transcripts of hundreds of thousands of students, Degree Compass matches current students with the courses that best fit their talents and makes tailored recommendations for programs of study. The system was an IMS Global Learning Impact Awards winner and has received recognition from Educause, Complete College America, the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and President Barack Obama.

Closing Keynote: Dr. George Siemens

GeorgeSiemens

Dr. Siemens’ keynote address is titled Directions in Learning Analytics. The talk will explore the development of learning analytics (LA) as a field, its origins as a research practice, the types of questions researchers attempt to answer, and the systemic impact on universities. Emerging directions will also be discussed, including the ways in which LA intersects with other prominent trends such as automation of work, growing influence of AI, and innovations in higher education. Finally, the impact of analytics on increased societal attention to being attributes such as wellness, well-being, and emotional and mental health will be discussed.

Dr. Siemens researches technology, networks, analytics, and openness in education. Dr. Siemens is Professor and Executive Director of the Learning Innovation and Networked Knowledge Research Lab at University of Texas, Arlington. He co-leads the development of the Center for Change and Complexity in Learning (C3L) at University of South Australia. He has delivered keynote addresses in more than 35 countries on the influence of technology and media on education, organizations, and society. His work has been profiled in provincial, national, and international newspapers (including NY Times), radio, and television. He has served as PI or Co-PI on grants funded by NSF, SSHRC (Canada), Intel, Boeing, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, and the Soros Foundation. He has received numerous awards, including honorary doctorates from Universidad de San Martín de Porres and Fraser Valley University for his pioneering work in learning, technology, and networks. He holds an honorary professorship with University of Edinburgh.

Dr. Siemens is a founding President of the Society for Learning Analytics Research (http://www.solaresearch.org/). He has advised government agencies in Australia, the European Union, Canada, and the United States—as well as numerous international universities—on digital learning and utilizing learning analytics for assessing and evaluating productivity gains in the education sector and improving learner results. In 2008, he pioneered massive open online courses (sometimes referred to as MOOCs). He blogs at http://www.elearnspace.org/blog/ and on Twitter at gsiemens.

12 Presentations, 21 Speakers

Bertha (Abby) Adeniji
Palmer School of Library and Information Science – Long Island University Post, Doctoral Student
bertha.adeniji@my.liu.edu

Tracy Adkins
Georgia State University, Director, Learning Technology
tadkins5@gsu.edu

Timothy Harfield
Blackboard Analytics
timothy.harfield@blackboard.com

Lisa Kafati
LMS Director, University System of Georgia
lisa.kafati@usg.edu

Lalitha Agnihotri
McGraw Hill Education, Senior Learning and Data Scientist
lalitha.agnihotri@mheducation.com

Alfred Essa
McGraw Hill Education, VP Analytics and R&D
alfred.essa@mheducation.com

Chad Marchong
Georgia State University, Manager for Learning Analytics
cmarchong@gsu.edu

Jeff Borden
Saint Leo University, Chief Innovation Officer
jeff.borden@saintleo.edu

Kendra Tristi
Tristico, Instructional Design Consultant
ktristi@icloud.com

Sandi Bramblett
Georgia Institute of Technology, Assistant Vice President of Institutional Research and Enterprise Data Management (IR & EDM)
sandi@gatech.edu

Donald Pearl
Georgia Institute of Technology, Director, Center for Academic Success
donald.pearl@gatech.edu

Nick Chaviano
Georgia Institute of Technology, Business Intelligence Developer
nick.chaviano@edm.gatech.edu
Andre Goodman
Georgia Institute of Technology, Business Intelligence Developer II
agoodman34@gatech.edu
David Joyner
Georgia Institute of Technology
david.joyner@gatech.edu
Rob Kadel
Georgia Institute of Technology, Asst. Dir., Research in Education Innovation
rob.kadel@gatech.edu

Steve Harmon
Georgia Tech Professional Education, Assoc. Dean for Research
swharmon@gatech.edu

Amyn Abduk-Khaliq
Fayetteville State University, Retention Data Specialist
aabduk-khaliq@uncfsu.edu

Scott James
Hobsons, Data Scientist
scott.james@hobsons.com

David Lindrum
Soomo Learning, Founder and Course Designer
david.lindrum@soomolearning.com

Patrick Duffy
Soomo Learning, Development Editor
patrick.duffy@soomolearning.com

Justin Shepherd
Emory University, Manager, Decision Support & Data Management
justin.shepherd@emory.edu